This website is the home of the up coming documentary Sun Sand Speed which will tell the story of true American motorcycle racing heroes who had skills few could match.  They raced on a course that changed every lap, battling wind, sand as well as the rising surf.  These motorcycle racers faced a challenge of strength, endurance and skill. They negotiated a course with deep rutted sand turns and then  transitioned to hard asphalt which caused many a rider to lose traction, slide out and crash.  Some ran off the course and into the surf while several others collided with spectators who were trying to cross the race track.  This documentary is about these men who raced on the beach of Daytona from 1937 to 1960. The only break in racing occurred during WWII 1942-1946.  After the war it started up again and ran until 1960 before it moved to the current location. Keep watching as we move forward on the Sun Sand Speed project.  We are still looking for more photos, interviews and film from the period. If you have original film from the time I will transfer the film to DVD and thumb drive for the use of the footage in our piece.


Send inquires to:


Race fans... Please support Dick Klamfoth's effort to honor all the racers who  raced in and won the Daytona 200. He is spearheading an effort to continually update the Daytona 200 monument. If you get the chance to visit Daytona Beach please go take a look at the beautiful monument located on Daytona Beach.  Check out his website and pledge your support  at:


Daytona 200 Monument in Daytona Beach.

Ed Kretz Sr. 1937 winner on an Indian Scout.

Billy Matthews 1941, 50 winner on a Norton.

Ben Campanale 1938, 39 winner on a Harley-Davidson.

Babe Tancrede 1940 winner on a Harley-Davidson.

Johnny Spiegelhoff 1947 winner on an Indian Scout.

Floyd Emde 1948 winner on the new "648 Big Base" Indian Scout.

Dick Klamfoth winner 1949, 51, 52 on his Norton.

Paul Goldsmith 1953 winner on a KR Harley-Davidson.

Bobby Hill 1954 winner on a hardtail BSA, not the trusty Indian Scout pictured.

1954 BSA poster celebrating their victory at Daytona Beach.

Brad Andres 1955, 59, 60 winner on a KR Harley-Davidson.

Johnny Gibson 1956 winner on a KR Harley-Davidson.

Joe Leonard 1957, 58 winner on a KR Harley-Davidson.